See other templatesSee other templates

Factory Information

Kiru Tea Factory is a KTDA-managed and is one of the nine (9) Factories in region two. It was commissioned on 23rd June 1993 with 16 buying centers and 2,330 registered growers. The Factory now serves 47 buying centres with over 7406 tea farmers.

 It is situated at the windward slopes of Aberdare ranges at 0037’09” degrees south of equator and 36’’18’’4 degrees east of meridian at a height of 2032M above sea level.

 The Factory is in Mathioya District and comprises the whole of Kiru location, parts of Gacharageini sub-location,   Kamacharia and Kamune sub-locations of Kamacharia location. The factory is 7km off Murang’a –Nyeri highway. Mathioya, Thuruthuru and Rwarai are the rivers traversing the catchment.

The Factory is governed by six (6) Directors elected by the tea farmers.Their roles are policy making and governance, contracting managing agent, Authorizing procurements (goods /services), approving annual budgets/accounts.
The scope of the integrated management system is Provision of agricultural services, receipt of green leaf, manufacture, packaging and dispatch of black tea.

The food safety scope covers the Made Black Tea (MBT) processed through Field Services; Green Leaf reception, withering, CTC, Fermentation, Drying, Sorting, Packing and Dispatch at Kiru Tea Factory.

The provisions to all activities of Kiru Tea Factory which include:-
a.        Field Services
b.        Production to despatch
c.        Accounts /stores
d.        Information communication technology (ICT)
e.        Human resources/administration
f.         Maintenance

The company ensures the procedures and requirements stipulated by law customer ISO 22000:2005; ISO 9001:2008 among others are improved through management review meeting and other accredited literature and research work. The company is also committed to communicating with the customers, suppliers and other interested parties to the issues pertaining to food quality and safety and changes that may affect the same.



Geoffrey C. Kirundi (HSC)-Chairman   John Ngaii Kariri- Vice Chairman  Stephen Maina Githiga
 Eston G. Gikoreh   David G. Waithaka  Florence Wachuka Wanderi
 Francis M. Maina- Board Member

Contact Details


Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Telephone: 0700 649061


KTDA Farmers Building, Moi Avenue
P.O Box 30213, 00100 Nairobi, Kenya    
254 - 020 3227000 - 2 / 2221441 - 4

Go to top Feedback